Policier & Thriller

  • LAIDLAW

    William Mcilvanney

    • Canongate books
    • 1 Juillet 2021

    THE FIRST IN THE ORIGINAL LAIDLAW TRILOGY WINNER OF THE CWA SILVER DAGGER ''If you only read one crime novel this year, this should be it'' Guardian ''A bloody good read'' Val McDermid When a young woman is found brutally murdered in Kelvingrove Park, only one man stands a chance of finding her killer. Jack Laidlaw. He is a man of contrasts, ravaged by inner demons but driven by a deep compassion for the violent criminals in Glasgow''s underworld. But will Laidlaw''s unorthodox methods get him to the killer in time, when the victim''s father is baying for blood? Acclaimed for its corrosive wit, dark themes and original maverick detective, the Laidlaw trilogy has earned the status of classic crime fiction.

  • THE WAY OF ALL FLESH - A RAVEN AND FISHER MYSTERY

    Ambrose Parry

    • Canongate books
    • 6 Juin 2019

    Edinburgh, 1847. Will Raven is a medical student, apprenticing for the brilliant and renowned Dr Simpson. Sarah Fisher is Simpson's housemaid, and has all of Raven's intelligence but none of his privileges. As bodies begin to appear across the Old Town, Raven and Sarah find themselves propelled headlong into the darkest shadows of Edinburgh's underworld. And if either of them are to make it out alive, they will have to work together to find out who's responsible for the gruesome deaths.

  • The Art of Dying

    Ambrose Parry

    • Canongate books
    • 29 Août 2019

    Edinburgh, 1850. Despite being at the forefront of modern medicine, hordes of patients are dying all across the city, with doctors finding their remedies powerless. But it is not just the deaths that dismay the esteemed Dr James Simpson - a whispering campaign seeks to blame him for the death of a patient in suspicious circumstances. Simpson's protege Will Raven and former housemaid Sarah Fisher are determined to clear their patron's name. But with Raven battling against the dark side of his own nature, and Sarah endeavouring to expand her own medical knowledge beyond what society deems acceptable for a woman, the pair struggle to understand the cause of the deaths. Will and Sarah must unite and plunge into Edinburgh's deadliest streets to clear Simpson's name. But soon they discover that the true cause of these deaths has evaded suspicion purely because it is so unthinkable.

  • Anglais Missing

    Karin Alvtegen

    • Canongate books
    • 17 Février 2011

    A gripping race against the clock, and an examination of the hidden lives of those who choose to live on the outskirts of society.

  • THE WAY OF ALL FLESH

    Ambrose Parry

    • Canongate books
    • 30 Août 2018

    Edinburgh, 1847. City of Medicine, Money, Murder. In Edinburgh's Old Town young women are being found dead, all having suffered similarly gruesome ends. Across the city in the New Town, medical student Will Raven is about to start his apprenticeship with the brilliant and renowned Dr Simpson. Simpson's patients range from the richest to the poorest of this divided city. His house is like no other, full of visiting luminaries and daring experiments in the new medical frontier of anaesthesia. It is here that Raven meets housemaid Sarah Fisher, who recognises trouble when she sees it and takes an immediate dislike to him. She has all of Raven's intelligence but none of his privileges, in particular his medical education. With each having their own motive to look deeper into these deaths, Raven and Sarah find themselves propelled headlong into the darkest shadows of Edinburgh's underworld, where they will have to overcome their differences if they are to make it out alive.

  • Anglais TEN DAYS

    Gillian Slovo

    • Canongate books
    • 3 Mars 2016
  • Anglais The specimen

    Martha Lea

    • Canongate books
    • 7 Février 2013
  • Anglais Betrayal

    Karin Alvtegen

    • Canongate books
    • 16 Juin 2011

    When you're confronted with the ultimate betrayal, how far would you go for revenge?

  • Anglais Stiff ; A Murray Whelan Mystery

    Shane Maloney

    • Canongate books
    • 15 Décembre 2004

    A Murray Whelan Mystery. Murray Whelan thinks the everyday life of a political advisor is complicated enough: but now there are intimations of intrigue among the party powerful and his ex-wife is mounting a custody battle over his beloved son. So when you throw in a Turk snap-frozen in a local meat plant, drugs planted under the bed, fascist funeral rites, a killer car and blood-sucking parsasites, things are suddenly spinning wildly out of control. That's when red-hot Ayisha knocks on the door...

  • Anglais Sacrifice

    Karin Alvtegen

    • Canongate books
    • 5 Janvier 2012

    Two women - each with a secret in her past ...

  • Anglais Shame

    Karin Alvtegen

    • Canongate books
    • 31 Mai 2007

    Tells the story about two women who are trapped by a past that won't let go. They have nothing in common but the determination to obliterate their memories and be left alone - but when a letter and a tragic accident force the past back to life, the emotional void at the centre of their lives gapes wide and threatens to engulf them both.

  • Anglais Shadow

    Karin Alvtegen

    • Canongate books
    • 4 Février 2010

    Shadow is an utterly compelling novel of dark family secrets, murder and betrayal, which will keep you gripped until its final thrilling revelations.

  • Anglais Naming the Bones

    Louise Welsh

    • Canongate books
    • 19 Février 2010

    The long-awaited new novel from the author of The Cutting Room and The Bullet Trick

  • Anglais The Blackest Bird

    Joel Rose

    • Canongate books
    • 25 Mars 2008

    Sweltering New York City, summer of 1841, the beautiful 'Segar Girl' Mary Rogers is brutally murdered. Popular amongst the journalistic and publishing elite, the task of finding her killer falls to High Constable Jacob Hays. At the end of a long and distinguished career, Old Hays's investigation will ultimately span a decade.

  • Anglais The Lying Tongue

    Andrew Wilson

    • Canongate books
    • 17 Avril 2008

    When young History of Art graduate Adam Woods takes a job in Venice as assistant to the aging, reclusive bestselling writer Gordon Crace, he becomes obsessed with the idea of writing his biography. But Adam does not expect the uncanny similarity between himself and Crace's former tenant, who died in mysterious circumstances decades earlier.

  • Anglais What dies in summer

    Tom Wright

    • Canongate books
    • 15 Mai 2012

    A stunning literary thriller for fans of The Virgin Suicides, The Secret History and I'm Not Scared

  • Anglais RECIPES FOR LOVE AND MURDER

    Sally Andrew

    • Canongate books
    • 19 Novembre 2015
  • Anglais S

    ,

    • Canongate books
    • 22 Octobre 2013

    A young woman picks up a book left behind by a stranger. Inside it are his margin notes, which reveal a reader entranced by the story and by its mysterious author. She responds with notes of her own, leaving the book for the stranger, and so begins an unlikely conversation that plunges them both into the unknown.

empty