Lire en V.O. cet été

  • Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • ''This is one of the most tender, beautiful books I have ever read. Please, please order it now. I honestly don''t want you to be without it. It is exquisite'' Lucy Mangan ''Remarkable... Small Pleasures is no small pleasure'' The Times ''Chambers'' eye for undemonstrative details achieves a Larkin-esque lucidity... There is compassion and quiet humour to be found in this tale of postwar Britain'' Guardian ''Small pleasures aplenty'' Metro ''A dazzling, exquisitely written story of how happiness and even love can find us when we least expect it'' RED ''I loved this novel, which simmers with repressed emotions, and the gut punch of an ending really stayed with me'' '' Good Housekeeping (Book of the Month) ''The glorious literary equivalent of pulling the duvet over your head... If you admire Tessa Hadley or Anne Tyler (and there are shades of Barbara Pym too), then this is one for you'' Bookseller (Book of the Month) ''The 21st century heir to Jane Austen, Barbara Pym and Elizabeth Taylor'' Amanda Craig, author of The Golden Rule ''Will draw you in from the first page and keep you gripped until the very end'' Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things 1957, south-east suburbs of London. Jean Swinney is a feature writer on a local paper, disappointed in love and - on the brink of forty - living a limited existence with her truculent mother. When a young Swiss woman, Gretchen Tilbury, contacts the paper to claim that her daughter is the result of a virgin birth, it is down to Jean to discover whether she is a miracle or a fraud. But the more she investigates, the more her life becomes strangely (and not unpleasantly) intertwined with that of the Tilburys: Gretchen herself, her husband Howard - with his dry wit and gentle disposition - and her charming daughter Margaret. But they are the subject of the story Jean is researching for the newspaper, a story that increasingly seems to be causing dark ripples across all their lives. And yet Jean cannot bring herself to discard the chance of finally having a taste of happiness. But there will be a price to pay - and it will be unbearable.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ''There''s no doubting this novel''s power'' Daily Mail ''A feast of a read: compelling, heartbreaking, and inevitable. I finished A Good Neighbourhood in a single sitting. Yes, it''s that good.'' Jodi Picoult A Good Neighbourhood explores how class, race and star-crossed love will change two families'' lives forever... Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng''s Little Fires Everywhere . A forbidden romance is blossoming in the tight-knit community of Oak Knoll. No one''s realised it yet - they''ve been too busy watching the rich, white Whitman family move into their newly built house. They''ve been watching Brad Whitman, with his new money and apparently traditional values, fight his neighbour over the historic oak tree dividing their properties. But what they haven''t noticed is that the Whitman girl is falling in love with the biracial boy next door. It is a love that will shatter the constructs of class and race in this small town. It is a love that might destroy everything... Praise for A Good Neighbourhood... '' Compelling, complicated, timely, and smart . . . hard to put down and hard to forget'' LAURIE FRANKEL, BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS '' This is a story that will stick with you for a long time'' EMILY GIFFIN, NO.1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF ALL WE EVER WANTED ''Smart dialogue, compelling characters and a communal "we" narrator that implicates us all in the wrenching conclusion'' TARA CONKLIN, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE LAST ROMANTICS ''A thought provoking and gripping novel - the kind that will have you savouring every page'' CULTUREFLY ''It''s the kind of book you tell your friends to read immediately, just so you have someone to talk to about it'' i PAPER ''Fowler''s novel culminates with injustices that are painfully easy to imagine because they continue to be a part of our contemporary lived experience'' THE WASHINGTON POST ''Make sure a friend reads it too - you''re going to want to talk about this book as soon as you finish it'' GOOD MORNING AMERICA ''Fans of Celeste Ng''s Little Fires Everywhere need to read Therese Anne Fowler''s A Good Neighbourhood'' POPSUGAR ''Beautiful, compelling and heartbreaking'' GLASGOW HERALD ''This page-turner delivers a thoughtful exploration of prejudice, preconceived notions, and what it means to be innocent'' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY ''A rippling story for fans of suspenseful domestic dramas'' BOOKLIST ''An unforgettable, heart-breaking story'' LIBRARY JOURNAL, STARRED REVIEW ''Check out this contemporary fiction novel if you''ve ever found yourself wondering what it means to be a good neighbour in modern America'' HUFFINGTON POST ''A provactive, absorbing read'' PEOPLE ''One of the most precise and timely novels of the year'' NEWSWEEK

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • An impossible murder A remarkable detective duo A demon who may or may not exist The extraordinary new novel from Stuart Turton, author of the Sunday Times bestseller, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle , winner of the Costa Best First Novel Award.

    Praise for The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle :
    ''Turton has astonishing ambition and narrative skill to match'' Daily Telegraph ''Fiendishly clever'' The Times ''Prepare to have your brain fried and your mind blown'' Daily Express It''s 1634 and Samuel Pipps, the world''s greatest detective, is being transported from the Dutch East Indies to Amsterdam, where he is facing trial and execution for a crime he may, or may not, have committed. Travelling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent, while also on board are Sara Wessel, a noble woman with a secret, and her husband, the governor general of Batavia.

    But no sooner is their ship out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage. A strange symbol appears on the sail. A dead leper stalks the decks. Livestock are slaughtered in the night.

    And then the passengers hear a terrible voice whispering to them in the darkness, promising them three unholy miracles. First: an impossible pursuit. Second: an impossible theft. Third: an impossible murder.

    Could a demon be responsible for their misfortunes?

    With Pipps imprisoned, only Arent and Sara can solve a mystery that stretches back into their past and now threatens to sink the ship, killing everybody on board.>

  • H2>''Such a beacon of pleasure'' KATE ATKINSON/h2>br>h2>''So smart and funny. Deplorably good'' IAN RANKIN/h2>br>h2>''A gripping read'' SUNDAY TIMES/h2>br>THE FIRST BOOK IN THE GRIPPING THURSDAY MURDER CLUB SERIES BY TV PRESENTER RICHARD OSMANIn a peaceful retirement village, four unlikely friends meet up once a week to investigate unsolved murders.But when a brutal killing takes place on their very doorstep, the Thursday Murder Club find themselves in the middle of their first live case.Elizabeth, Joyce, Ibrahim and Ron might be pushing eighty but they still have a few tricks up their sleeves.Can our unorthodox but brilliant gang catch the killer before it''s too late?br>__________________________________WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB''Thrilling, moving, laugh-out-loud funny'' MARK BILLINGHAM''Mystery fans are going to be enthralled'' HARLAN COBEN''Smart, compassionate, warm, moving and so VERY funny'' MARIAN KEYES''A gripping read and rather moving'' SUNDAY TIMES''Funny, clever and achingly British'' ADAM KAY''If we''re lucky Richard Osman will keep these characters alive forever'' CAROLINE KEPNES''A warm, wise and witty warning never to underestimate the elderly'' VAL MCDERMID''I completely fell in love with it'' SHARI LAPENA''This is properly brilliant. The pages fly and I can''t stop smiling'' STEVE CAVANAGH''Clever, clever plot'' FIONA BARTON''I laughed my arse off'' BELINDA BAUER''Utterly charming'' SARAH PINBOROUGH''Properly funny and totally charming... steeped in Agatha Christie joy'' ARAMINTA HALL''A bundle of joy'' JANE FALLON''Robert Galbraith meets Tom Sharpe. I don''t ever want to finish this book!'' PHILIPPA PERRY''I found myself staying up way after lights out for just one more chapter'' JAMES OSWALD''What a tonic! Should be on prescription'' JANE CORRY>

  • Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • Hamnet

    Maggie O'Farrell

    • Belfond
    • 1 Avril 2021

    Un jour d'été 1596, dans la campagne anglaise, une petite fille tombe gravement malade. Son frère jumeau, Hamnet, part chercher de l'aide car aucun de leurs parents n'est à la maison...

    Agnes, leur mère, n'est pourtant pas loin, en train de cueillir des herbes médicinales dans les champs alentour ; leur père est à Londres pour son travail ; tous deux inconscients de cette maladie, de cette ombre qui plane sur leur famille et menace de tout engloutir.

    Porté par une écriture d'une beauté inouïe, ce nouveau roman de Maggie O'Farrell est la bouleversante histoire d'un frère et d'une soeur unis par un lien indéfectible, celle d'un couple atypique marqué par un deuil impossible. C'est aussi l'histoire d'une maladie « pestilentielle » qui se diffuse sur tout le continent. Mais c'est avant tout une magnifique histoire d'amour et le tendre portrait d'un petit garçon oublié par l'Histoire, qui inspira pourtant à son père, William Shakespeare, sa pièce la plus célèbre.

empty